Home » Jewish » The Great Synagogue, Gardens, Cape Town

The Great Synagogue, Gardens, Cape Town

Visiting the Gardens Shul is always on my itinerary when I visit Cape Town.

This last December was no exception!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I want to thank Solly Berger, the Chairman of the The Cape Town Hebrew Congregation, for allowing me to post this article he wrote in 2005 for the Centenary of the Shul.

Gardens

Gardens  1

Gardens  2

Gardens  3

Gardens  4

Gardens  5

Gardens  6

Gardens  7

Gardens  8

Gardens  9

My photos from 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Images found at the Jagger Library UCT. Thanks to Solly Berger for allowing me to post these.

IMG_1835

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_1739

IMG_1753

The Albert Road Cemetery, Woodstock.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Woltemade Cemetery Gate 8

IMG_1713 

 

DSC_6599

DSC_6598

Raymond Ackerman with Rabbi Osher Feldman, Nov 2012

IMG_0166

With Jill and Solly and Cora Berger, November 2012

IMG_0150

With my family December 2013 – this is the spot where Jill and I were married 36 years ago!

DSC_9600a

Checking our ketuba in the shul office.

IMG_1535

Audio from our chuppah, 31 July 1977.

The quality of the recording is not great, but the choir is!

Just married!

J & E Wedding 32

5 thoughts on “The Great Synagogue, Gardens, Cape Town

  1. nice audio of your wedding + Aunty Rachel in your wedding photo + most importantly,a very dashing couple!! best regards, moshe

  2. Noreen and I were married on the same spot as were my parents and grandparents. My father’s late uncle was the shamas when my grandparents married there in about 1910. Noreen and I celebrated our bat and bar mitvas respectively there. Best wishes. Julian.

Leave a Reply

